Sasquatch Athlete of the Month – June 2013

24Jun13

Introducing our June Athlete of the Month is a pleasure.  She is a ray of sunshine, and by that description alone you should know who it is.

Congratulations, Jennifer Park!

I’m stoked to have Jen as our June Athlete of the Month! Jen has been apart of Sasquatch since the beginning, always friendly and the first to welcome someone new, or help someone out. She is ALWAYS encouraging and supportive, believing in others more than themselves. It’s positivity at its finest. Jen has set goals and achieved them:  ring dips,  HSPU and one of my most memorable performances, her Rx Diane! I can’t thank Jen enough.  Sasquatch has an amazing welcoming community and Jen has been a huge, huge part of building that atmosphere!  Love all your hard work Jen and what you bring to Sasquatch!

~Coach Tim

Now let’s take a few minutes to learn more about this fantastic package of positivity!

Section 1: An Intro to Jen

1. What are your favorite hobbies, talents, skills outside of CrossFit?

I love to eat therefore I love to cook!  If I am not at the box or in a kitchen you’ll find me outside with my Jack Russell Terrier, Roxy. 

2. What motto or phrase do you live by?

Peace begins with a smile—Mother Teresa

3. What is something we might not know about you?

I have North Korean blood in my veins.  🙂 

4. What is your favorite music to listen to while WODing?

Anything fast paced, loud and angry sounding. 

5. Do any of your family members CrossFit?

Well…. My husband dabbles in CF.

6. Where are you originally from?

Born in Tacoma and raised all around the Eastside.

7. What is your occupation?

Office Manager for the best chiropractor in Redmond! 

8. What is your athletic background?

NONE!  I have never played a sport and PE used to be my least favorite class.  (Tied with math.)

Section 2: Jen and CF – the basics

1. How long have you been with Sasquatch CrossFit?

Just about 2 years.  I am a charter member!

2. What is your favorite WOD?

Any AMRAP.

3. What is your least favorite WOD?

Any hero wod and Eva!

4. What is your favorite lift?

OHS!!!!!!

5. What is your least favorite lift?

Thrusters. Ick!

6. What is your favorite paleo meal/snack?

All of it!  🙂

7. What is your favorite cheat Food(s)?

OMG!!!!!  WAAAAYYYY too many.  I love White Chocolate Americanos from Mercury’s. Cinnamon Chip bread from Great Harvest.  Anything related to chewy bread or al dente pasta!

8. What would your perfect WOD look like?

10 minute AMRAP: 5 HSPU. 10 OHS. 15 box jumps.

9. What is one thing you have done at Sasquatch that you never thought you would do?

A strict pullup! AND 800m run!

10. What motivates you during a CrossFit WOD?

To be the best ME that I can be.  I also have to admit I’m motivated by a little friendly competition.  🙂

11. What do you eat pre/post WOD?

PreWOD:  about 3 hours before I eat a couple hard boiled eggs and maybe a little fruit.

PostWOD:  as much meat and veggies I can find!

Section 3-  Getting Deeper into Jen and CF

1. What results have you seen so far in coming to Sasquatch?

About two years ago, I was in one of the worst shapes I’ve even been in.  I was newly married and had gained the obligatory newlywed 15.  I couldn’t run a block or do a pushup from my knees.  In these two years I have leaned out and gained muscle and have reached all sorts of goals like strict pulls, HSPUS and a real pushup!  I’ve also run a few 5ks!  Sasquatch has changed my life maybe even saved it.

2. What was your main reason for joining Sasquatch?

I’ve been interested in starting crossfit for a few years but couldn’t afford it.  When Tim Bandel said he was starting Sasquatch I was all in.  I would say being healthy is worth any cost and you can’t afford NOT to do it.

3. Give us some insight as to your thoughts after your first workout at Sasquatch CrossFit?

It was rough to say the least, I thought my arms would fall off and my lungs would explode but I was HOOKED.  You could say I drank the paleo-Koolaid!

4. Tell us a little about then VS now in regard to your performances as a CrossFit athlete.

When I first started I couldn’t imagine the things I can do now.  I was like RX is like a unicorn, nonexistent but now I’m staring down BM. 

5. Do you have any special or successful Sasquatch memories/moments?

Diane.  I rx+’d it!  Tim made us deadlift 165 and rx for Diane is 155. 

6. What advice would you give to a newbie or someone just joining Sasquatch CrossFit?

This is the best thing you can do for your health and fitness.  It’s going to be hard and you’ll hate some days but then you’ll feel so accomplished and strong.  Keep at it and reap the rewards. 

___________________

Let’s take a look at some of Jen’s moments at Sasquatch…

Jen doing burpees during 13.1

Jen doing burpees during 13.1

Another view of Jen doing burpees incredibly fast.

Another view of Jen doing burpees incredibly fast.

Jen doing snatches during 13.1

Jen doing snatches during 13.1

Jen climbing rope!

Jen climbing rope!

Jen after completing her first ever CrossFit Open workout (13.1)

Jen after completing her first ever CrossFit Open workout (13.1)

Congratulations Jennifer, you deserve this recognition for all the sunshine and devotion you bring to Sasquatch.  Your smile is a spark that we use to ignite our community! Thank you for all you do!



No Responses Yet to “Sasquatch Athlete of the Month – June 2013”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment