Sasquatch CrossFit Athlete of the Month – March 2013

12Mar13

What a perfect day to announce our March 2013 Athlete of the Month – as it is also her birthday!  Congratulations to Wilhelmina Giese (Willy) on being Sasquatch CrossFit’s March 2013 AOM!  We hope your birthday is spectacular!

Willy is someone you love to coach. There is nothing sweeter to hear in response to “go Rx” as Wilhelmina regular response “oh ok.”  She is always pushing herself physically and mentally in every workout and every strength. Willy has such great energy when she comes to Sasquatch, always just excited to get after it. She is an awesome athlete who is very coachable and picks up things quickly. Thank you Wilhelmina for the energy you bring to the Sasquatch family.

~Coach Tim

WHO IS WILLY?
1. What is something we might not know about you?
My favorite hobby outside of CrossFit is snow skiing. I have been skiing since I could walk and it is a huge part of my life.
2. What is your favorite music to listen to while WODing?
I love working out to Trey’s play lists. And also I love to workout too any kind of dub step, techno, house music, etc.
3. Where are you originally from?
I am born and raised in good old West Seattle by Alki Beach.
4. What is your occupation?
I am a full time student at Northwest University and work part time at Apulent Catering and Events; there I event manage and serve.
5. What is your athletic background?
I have played soccer my whole life. From age 10-18 I played club soccer. Then continued onto play at Bellevue Community for two years and then transferred to NU and played one year there. Now I am retired from competitive soccer and just play for fun on a coed team every week.

THE BASICS
1. How long have you been with Sasquatch CrossFit?
I have been with CrossFit since May 2012.
2. What is your favorite WOD?
My favorite WOD is an amrap workout, I don’t have a favorite WOD per say but I love any workout that is an amrap. Amrap is one of my favorites because everyone is working out together and we are racing against the clock to get the most rounds completed in the allotted time.
3. What is your least favorite WOD?
A couple of weeks ago we have to run 400 meters and then do 15 overhead squats and it was challenging to say the least. Having to run and then keep composed to complete the OTS with correct form was a challenge.
4. What is your favorite lift?
Dead lift.
5. What is your least favorite lift?
Overhead squat.
6. What would your perfect WOD look like?
Amrap 12 minutes: 10 front squat, 15 box jumps, 20 kettle bell swings.
7. What is one thing you have done at Sasquatch that you never thought you would do?
I recently completed a WOD with a 53-pound kettle bell. Initially I had grabbed the 35-pound and thought I could do more and wanted to try lifting more so I ran over and thought I grabbed the 45-pound when really I had grabbed the 53-pound. After completing the WOD I had the ultimate high and couldn’t believe I had did it without even knowing. It was an amazing accomplishment.
WILLY AND CROSSFIT
1. What results have you seen so far in coming to Sasquatch?
I am mentally and physically stronger since coming to CF. Each week I am pushing myself to try more weight and am seeing results. I am getting stronger by the week and improving my technique.

2. What was your main reason for joining Sasquatch?
I joined because I fell in love with the environment at CF and because I wanted to do something challenging and competitive.
3. Give us some insight as to your thoughts after your first workout at Sasquatch CrossFit?
I can still remember my first workout it was killer, the WOD was kettle bell swings, toes to bars and double unders. Trey was coaching and I loved everything about CF, the music, the people, and the environment. I have played competitive soccer my entire life and this was something I could compete in. I am competitive by nature, I want to improve and push myself and this is the gym to do it at.
4. Do you have any special or successful Sasquatch memories/moments?
A recent WOD I box jumped for the first time 24 inches and swung a kettle bell at 53 pounds. I knew I could do it but without the support and motivation from Tim and Trey that very day I wouldn’t have completed the WOD. After the amrap was over everyone was literally freaking out about the weight I had swung and how many rounds I completed. It was an amazing moment and the ultimate high.
5. What advice would you give to a newbie or someone just joining Sasquatch CrossFit?
Start with a low weight and work up. Each week you should push yourself to try more weight in the WOD’s. We do strength after warm up to push ourselves and improve our technique, take advantage of this time. The coaches are there to help, motivate and coach you, be willing to be coached.
6. Tell us one of your goals you’ve set at CrossFit and when you plan to meet it.
A 2013 goal of mine was to compete in a CrossFit competition of some sort and I started this Saturday March 9, 2013 with the CrossFit Games Open.

Speaking of The Open, here are some photos of Willy during her fierce attack on 13.1.

Kicking off 13.1 with burpees

Working side-by-side with her fellow Sasquatchers

Working side-by-side with her fellow Sasquatchers

Making the first round of snatches look easy

Making the first round of snatches look easy

Post 13.1  - Like it was nothing!

Post 13.1 – Like it was nothing!

Congratulations again, Willy!  Keep up the good work!!!!



No Responses Yet to “Sasquatch CrossFit Athlete of the Month – March 2013”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment